Trinity Sunday Surprise

Today is Trinity Sunday and I ended the day by singing St. Patrick’s Breastplate with my friends (and hosts) Richard and Cathi. I won’t include the whole hymn, but give you a taste of the rich and vivid language

I bind unto myself today
The strong Name of the Trinity,
By invocation of the same
The Three in One and One in Three.

I bind this today to me forever
By power of faith, Christ’s incarnation;
His baptism in Jordan river,
His death on Cross for my salvation;
His bursting from the spicèd tomb,
His riding up the heavenly way,
His coming at the day of doom
I bind unto myself today.

I love the line “His bursting from the spicèd tomb” knowing that I will be visiting that tomb that could not hold the Prince of Life!

This year, Trinity Sunday was also the beginning of the celebration of Queen Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee. As I was walking in the village of Tonbridge this afternoon, I came across the plaque in the picture above this post. Amazing to think that I randomly came across this plaque commemorating Queen Victoria’s 60th anniversary of her reign on THE VERY DAY that we are celebrating the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth. Gave me chills. God is good.

I was blessed to stumble upon this plaque on this day!

Published by: wismered

an Episcopalian priest living in Houston, Texas. My wife and I have 4 kids thriving in college! Day job is pastoring 850+ students, 18 months to 8th grade at St Francis Episcopal Day School.

2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Trinity Sunday Surprise”

  1. Your blog is filling my soul. I love England and Scotland. So you are my surrogate today—how I would love to be there during this Jubilee. (I am Jane Mumey’s mother)

Leave a Reply

