An Exquisite Day in Cambridge, England

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I had such a wonderful day in Cambridge today. I am staying with my very good friends, Paul and Ginny Weston, and their daughter, Anna, who is my god-daughter. Paul is on the faculty of Ridley Hall in Cambridge University so he was able to arrange for me to have a readers card to the Cambridge University Library. While there I researched some early biblical manuscripts, and was able to spend some time with a 15th century miniscule manuscript of the gospels, written and illuminated by hand in Paris around 1491. It was a gift to the University from King George I in 1715. I am working on a presentation on how we got the Bible and why we should have confidence in the text of the Bible, even though many people have lost confidence in the text of the Bible, believing that it is a copy of a copy of a copy, etc.
I had a nice walk around Cambridge taking in the wonderful buildings and lanes and churches and shops. It is a mesmerizing, enchanting place, especially for us from North America who aren’t accustomed to things of such age. Cambridge became a center of learning in the 1200’s and oozes with history, tradition and mystique. Wish you were here. Hope you get to come some day!
signing off with love, prayers and good wishes.

Published by: wismered

an Episcopalian priest living in Houston, Texas. My wife and I have 4 kids thriving in college! Day job is pastoring 850+ students, 18 months to 8th grade at St Francis Episcopal Day School.

15 Comments

15 thoughts on “An Exquisite Day in Cambridge, England”

  1. Father Bob, your entries are breathtaking! I can only imagine what our conversations will be like when you return to school. Blessings to you on this wonderful journey…

  2. What a wonderful day! We wish we were there! We are praying for you every day, Father Wismer!
    ๐Ÿ™‚ The Looser Family

    1. Beth, thanks so much! And I wanted to tell you that I brought the Van Gogh biography along with me to read. It’s a bit heavy (!) but it has been fascinating to read the bit about Vincent coming to London in the early 1870’s. the festivities to celebrate the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee have been fantastic.

  3. John and I have been there a few times and we loved it….never got a pass to the Library though !On one trip it was graduation and it was so nice to see all the men in robes and extremely happy to have graduated from University! I wish I was there now! I love England!

  4. poppa your blog is fantastic!! so great to see all of your entries! cant wait to spend time with you on saturday!!

  5. Lovely entry! What a privilege to look at the history of the formation of the canon… will you be looking at the history of the deuterocanonical books too?

    1. Thanks Peggy. No not really going to be looking at the deuterocanonical books, but Markus Bockmuehl seemed really intent upon upsetting my applecart of understanding of the process for the canonical books! It has been very challenging. Thanks for your prayers.

      1. Bob, you night owl! Nothing like having one’s applecart upset, is there? I will keep you in prayer, and send a big hug ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. Peggy, thought of you when I went to the Holy Sepulchre today, knowing how much you would have appreciated it. Six denominations share the space, so they have a Muslim open the doors at 5 am. I’m going to try to go at that time and do my devotions there tomorow.
        Bob

Leave a Reply

